The Visayas /vᵻˈsaɪəz/ və-sy-əz or the Visayan Islands (Visayan: Kabisay-an; Tagalog: Kabisayaan), is one of the three principal geographical divisions of the Philippines, along with Mindanao and Luzon.

It consists of several islands, primarily surrounding the Visayan Sea, although the Visayas are considered the northeast extremity of the entire Sulu Sea. Its inhabitants are predominantly the Visayans. The major islands of the Visayas are Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte and Samar. The region may also include the islands of Romblon and Masbate, whose population identify as Visayan and whose languages are more closely related to other Visayan languages than to the major languages of Luzon.

There are four administrative regions in the Visayas: Western Visayas (4.4 million), Negros Island Region (4.4 million), Central Visayas (6 million), and Eastern Visayas (4.4 million).



Places in Visayas

Find More  


Find More  


Find More  
error: Alert: Content is protected !!