Iloilo City

Iloilo City, officially the City of Iloilo (Hiligaynon: Dakbanwa/Syudad sang Iloilo; Karay-a: Syudad kang/ka Iloilo; Filipino: Lungsod ng Iloilo; Spanish: Ciudad de Iloílo), is a first class, highly urbanized city on Panay island in the Philippines.

It is the capital city of the province of Iloilo and it is the center of Metro Iloilo and also the regional center of the Western Visayas region as well as the center of the Iloilo-Guimaras Metropolitan Area. In the 2015 census, Iloilo City had a population of 447,992, with a 1.02% population annual growth rate. For the metropolitan area, the total population is 946,146.

Iloilo City is bordered by the towns of Oton in the west, Pavia in the north, Leganes in the northeast and the Iloilo Strait in its eastern and southern coastline. The city was a conglomeration of former towns, which are now the geographical districts consisting of: Jaro (an independent city-before), Molo, La Paz, Mandurriao, Villa Arevalo, and Iloilo City Proper. The district of Lapuz, a former part of La Paz, was declared a separate district in 2008.



Find More  


Find More  
error: Alert: Content is protected !!